On the weekend of the 1st July Ross Bartlett rode the ECCA '100' returning with a personal best of 4.16.42. Harry Featherstone went of to the New Forest for a successful foray. He was fastest on Age Standard in the Poole Whs '25' with a 59.31 and took the same award in the Crabwood event with a 59.40 for 7th place on scratch time.

Gavin Sherlock finished the Lampard '10' in a personal best 20.38. Harry Featherstone and Derek Redgwell rode the VTTA (Surrey/Sussex) '25' winning the Team event with a 59.44 and 1.1.44 respectively. The Paragon long distance team went off to Essex for the Essex Roads '100. Gethin won the event with a 3.36.42 whilst Ross Brtlett improved to a 4.10.48 and Neil Hood to a 4.16.59 to set a new Club Team Record of 12.04.19.

Harry Featherstone won the South Eastern RC 'Lew Smith' '10' in 22.03 and the next morning was our fastest rider in the De Laune '25' with a 57.29 followed by Stan Worrell 58.17, Ross Bartlett 1.0.48 and Justin Greeley 1.1.05. This race was noted for the ride of Sean Yates who set a course record of 48.48 riding a gear of 57 x 13! Gethin Butler won the Yorkshire RC '50' in 1.43.13.

July 23rd was our promotion at Crystal Palace. Sufficient to say that it rained rather heavily although we did not get the lightening that struck the Buckingham Palace Garden Party. At the time of the scheduled Start we had more marshals than riders all of them in the HQ sheltering from the rain. We decided to postpone the event!

Gethin Butler came 3rd in the RTTC National Championship '100' with a 3.46.47. Ross Bartlett improved his '50' time even further with a 1.59.03 in the Essex Roads event. Justin Greeley rode the RTTC Junior National 25 miles Championship finishing in 59.38.

The Club Track Championships were held on the 6th August. The 4000m for the Bert Chapman Cup was held over 9 laps (1/4 of a lap over distance) to get more riders on the track and save the evening light. Neil. Hood was the fastest with a 5.35 just 4 seconds too fast for Justin Greeley. Dillon Adams and Steve Roach tied for 3rd place with 5.43. (To calculate the approximate 4000m time take off 9 seconds). We had Heats, Semi-finals and Finals for the AEU Cup 500m Sprint with Ross Bartlett beating Bob Patton and Steve Roiach in the Final. Steve Roach had the consolation of taking the Frank Burton Cup for the 500m handicap beating Dillon Adams and Chris Kennard. The 5 miles event for the Ravensbourne Cup turned into a two-horse race with Justin Greeley and Steve Roach battling out for the honours. In the end justice was done when Justin Greeley won the last sprint for the Ravensbourne Cup whilst Steve Roach had just 2 points more than Justin to take the George Colget Cup. Bob Patton came 3rd in both points and scratch competitions. The result of the Championships was a win for Justin Greeley

with 5 points from Steven Roach (4 points) and a tie between Bob Patton and Neil Hood for 3rd place.

Riding the North Mids 12-hour event Gethin Butler ran out time with 296.64 miles the second further distance ever covered in 12 hours. This was a new Club Record and it won the event by 22 miles. Ross Bartlett took 3rd place in the Sussex CA 12 hours event with a 251.75 for another personal best. Paul Keyse did a personal best in the Hemel Hempstead '10' of 22.32 whilst Gavin Sherlock also improved. His event was the St Neots '25' and he recorded a 54.25. In the Surrey League road race Allison Butler, Justin Greeley and Simon Richardson finished 19th, 17th and 22nd respectively.

Dave Adams returned a personal best in the CDCA '10; on the 16th August and Justin Greeley was fastest Junior in the Eastbourne '25' with a 58.51. The others were riding the Surrey League race at South Nutfield with Ray Puttick finishing in 6th place, Justin Greeley 10th, Simon Richardson 11th, Kelvin Morrison 13th, Allison Butler 14th and Steve Roach 25th.

On August 23rd the Club held a World Championship riders Meeting. It was a tremendous effort by John Dennis and his willing helpers that 2 hours of racing was held to a very tight schedule. Providing a pool of pushers-off ensured no delay between heats and proved an excellent innovation only to be expected at a Paragon promotion.

Ainars Kiksis (Latvia), a former Junior World Champion won the Grand Prix of London Sprint from Harumi Honda (Japan) and local man Rob Jeffries (Brixton Cycles) in 3rd place. The GB team won the Olympic Sprint over 3 laps. Rob Hayles (Ambrosia) won the Elimination race and the Harry Grant Cup for the 10km Scratch. The prospective GB 4000m Pursuit team won their event with a classy 4.30.5 on this windy evening. The Paragon interest during the evening was in a 15 laps Pursuit race between Gary Dighton (Manchester Whs), who was BBAR winner in 1990 and has some excellent 100-mile times to his credit, and our own Gethin Butler who was, on the evening, leading the BBAR tables for 1996. Both riders were within a second of each other changing positions as they were alternatively helped and hindered by the wind. Eventually Gethin pulled away to win by about a quarter of a lap.

After the event a gathering of past and present members mingled with the competitors in the Stadium bar for a social supper and chin-wag.

The only time we have for the 26th August is Steve Vandyke finishing with a personal best of 1.3.12 in the Old Portlians '25'.

On the 2nd September Justin Greeley improved his best '50' to 1.56.12 whilst Allison Butler broke the Club Ladies Record for 100 miles with a 4.43.51 in the SCCU event and was 1st lady in the race as well. Our new lady member Sue Blackwell rode the Redmon '10' finishing in 31.53.

Stan Worrell did the ride of his life in the Redbridge '25' on the 16th September improving by 2.42 with an excellent 52.54. Harry Featherstone was also in

good form breaking the VTTA National Sage Record with his 54.23. Justin Greeley was 13th in Nation al Junior '10' with a 21.57. Ross Bartlett further improved his '50' time with a 1.58.15 in the Mid Oxon event and Paul Keyse reduced his best to 2.2.59 in the same race. Gethin Butler recorded the second fastest 100-mile time ever when he won the North Mids event with a 3.28.33. He did have some mechanical problems being stuck in 56 x 12 for the last 40 miles!

Harry Featherstone took the Age Standard award in the Poole Whs '25' with his 59.36. Stan Worrell won the CDCA '25' in 1.0.04 whilst at the other end Pete Cartwright finished his first race over 25 miles in 1.13.33. Steve Roach won the Surrey League road race at Ellens Green after constantly attacking the bunch before breaking away on his one for the victory.

In the Wessex Veterans 2up Harry Featherstone and Eamon Deane won with a 53.05. Then on the 14th October Harry won the Age Standard award in the Hillingdon '25' with a 57.52.

On a dreadful day just 10 riders elected to start the Inter-Club Map Reading at Chiddingstone. Dave Giles (Century) won in 57.20 and Jon Jennings, 1.3.02 was 2nd. Bob Patton came 4th, 1.6.54, and Keith Butler 5th and fastest veteran in 1.8.06. Allison Butler was 1st and only lady but we did win the team race.

lan Murray won the Freewheel Championship by about 12 inches from Keith Butler.

Gethin Butler came 3rd in the RTTC National BBAR with an average speed of 27.684. Ross Bartlett came 97th, 23.440 mph, and with John Yates finishing with 21063 mph the Paragon were 11th Team.

On the Club scene Gethin Butler won the Open Time Trial Award. Pete Danckwardt won the Short Distance BAR. Steve Roach took the Club Road Race Championship. Justin Greeley won the Track Championship and the Junior Championship. Marcus Bfueton took the Off-road Championship.